American Association of

 Australasian Literary Studies

Annual Conference


The American Association of Australasian Literary Studies holds an annual conference where members present their academic work in Australasian literary and cultural studies. The meeting affords an opportunity for intellectual and social interaction with fellow scholars from around the world. The Wertheim Prize is awarded each year for the best paper by a graduate student. In addition to the presentation of academic work, the conference features readings by Australian writers and a conference dinner with a keynote speaker. Recent conference locations include Washington, Toronto, Ft. Worth, Calgary and Austin, with keynote addresses and readings by Andrew McCann, Diana Brydon, Jonathan Bennett, Nicholas Jose and Alan Wearne.



American Association of Australasian Literary Studies Annual Conference - Portland, Oregon - April 24-26, 2014

The 2014 AAALS conference will be held at Portland State University in Portland, Oregon. An evening reception will be held on Thursday, April 24, and conference sessions will take place on Friday, April 25, and Saturday, April 26. There will also be an optional post-conference outing (for an additional fee) on Sunday, April 27. All conference sessions will take place on the Portland State University campus, which is conveniently located in downtown Portland. Presentations should be 20 minutes long, so please plan accordingly. The keynote speaker will be Professor David Carter from the University of Queensland.
Conference attendees are encouraged to stay in downtown Portland at the conveniently located University Place Hotel and Conference Center, which is offering us a special rate of $80/night for a single room containing a double bed or $90/night for a room with a king-size bed. Internet access is provided at no extra charge. For reservations, call +1 (503) 221-0140 and mention the discount code: AAALS. Please note: this rate is good only through February 24, 2014, so make your reservations before this date.
As for other costs associated with attending the conference, these are still in a state of flux. However, we expect them to be slightly less than they were last year (i.e. $200 conference fee [or $140 for graduate students] + AAALS membership fee ranging from $30$50 + optional conference dinner for $90).  

The 2013 Conference Program is now available as a PDF document. The 2012 Conference Program, 2011 Conference Program, 2010 Conference Program, 2009 Conference Program, 2008 Conference Program and 2007 Conference Program are available online in Word format.

Winners of The Wertheim Prize for Best Graduate Student Paper:

2013 - Shinjini Chattopadhyay - Jadavpur University

2012 - Marcia van Zeller - Curtin University

2011 - Megan Terry - The University of Texas at Tyler

2010 - Sarah Otto Marxhausen - University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Michael R. Griffiths, Rice University

2009 - Esther Prokopienko - College of Saint Rose

2008 - Terra Walston, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2007 - Hilary Emmett, Cornell University

2006 - Sean Scarisbrick, University of Buffalo

2005 - Kevin Birmingham, Harvard University, and Nathanael O'Reilly, Western Michigan University


Last updated December 30, 2013     Site designed by Tricia Jenkins and Nathanael O'Reilly. Maintained by Nathanael O'Reilly.